Emoticons of hearts, flowers, butterflies, and smiley faces

I heart Rachel Maddow so very, very much.

Hi, I'm Rachel Maddow.

Hi, I'm Rachel Maddow.

She is incredibly intelligent (a Rhodes Scholar), informed (a true geek, she bones up on all of her subjects before speaking about them), and a policy wonk (she seems to know a lot more than many politicians). Furthermore, she is extremely amiable and affable—you can’t not like her. (Really; that’s an order.) She’s funny, not above infusing her show with ample doses of humour, and she explains things really, really well. She doesn’t just report stuff. She goes one further and makes a real effort to understand complicated issues, often deeply, and then conveys what she has learned to the general public in ways that we can all understand.

But the thing about her being amiable and affable does not mean that she should be trifled with. On her show last night Rachel showed a side of herself that doesn’t come out very often and, oh my, did it give me goosebumps. (Okay, I was actually going to write that it had another physical effect on me, but I don’t wanna get dirty. Use your imagination.)

In the spirit of Rachel Maddow, here’s a little background first:

On the previous night’s show, Rachel talked about North Carolina Senator Richard Burr, who said that after a briefing in Washington last year about the looming financial crisis, he called his wife and told her, “Tonight, I want you to go to the ATM machine, and I want you to draw out everything it will let you take. And I want you to tomorrow, and I want you to go Sunday. I was convinced on Friday night that if you put a plastic card in an ATM machine the last thing you were going to get was cash.”

I'm amiable, affable, and funny.

I'm amiable, affable, and funny.

He said this, and Rachel reported it. Word for word.

You might want to watch the original story; this is what first got me feeling a little…tingly in my…naughty bits. “The FDIC insures your freakin’ deposits, Senator Genius.” Oh…Rachel…<drool>.

(By the way, I call her Rachel because I think if she met me she would want to be my best friend. I would never refer to my soon-to-be best friend by her last name!)

In the past Rachel has also condemned Burr for blocking the nomination of Iraq War veteran and double-amputee Tammy Duckworth as Assistant Secretary of Public and Intergovernmental Affairs for the Veterans’ Affairs Department. Duckworth is very highly regarded and her nomination was disputed by pretty much no one, except Burr. And he has yet to explain why he was blocking the nomination.

Okay, so on to last night’s show where Rachel responded to a letter of complaint she received from Senator Burr’s office accusing her of, among other things, defamation.

But don't mess with me or I'll take you down.

But don't mess with me; I'll take you down.

You gotta watch this. (It begins at 1:20.)

Oh, Rachel, <hearts>, I didn’t think it was possible to love you more. Your last line…it’s like an an aphrodisiac!

Your take-away from these clips: Don’t mess with Rachel Maddow! (And Rachel Maddow wants to be my best friend. It’s a subtle subtext, but it’s there.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://writerchick99.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/376/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You know, the more I see of her the more I heart her as well! We so desperately need more people like her covering the news. I saw the clip of her responding to the e-mail from Burr’s office on Afterellen. She’s just amazing!


Leave a Reply

